Mid-Century Modern(ization)

Redefining modern for a family-friendly home

Cycling Complete

3 Comments

Ok, I finally did it — I took 3 minutes and hung the bicycle canvases.  Really, that’s all the time it took!  I don’t know why I put it off for so long.

IMG_1361

Truth be told, the only reason I bit the bullet was because Logan finally discovered it perched on the floor behind the dining room table and I knew it would only be so long before he picked it up and put his head through it.

IMG_1362

This was obviously before we hung the curtains.  I posted this photo on Facebook right after I hung the art, and completely forgot to post about it here!

IMG_1363

The rug was purchased on Overstock.com for about $200 (I had a coupon and it was tax free week!) along with the rug in the master bedroom. Love that O.co has free shipping!

IMG_1364

How hilarious is it that the dining room looks all put together until you step back to take in the whole room!  Haha.  Think we’ll ever get a couch?

Some of you are wondering why we’re waiting and the simple answer is this:  we realized that both our car loan and our new hardwood floors will be paid off in January 2015.  If we wait a few months until January 2014 to buy a couch, and take advantage of one of those financing specials that advertise “You don’t make a payment for ONE FULL YEAR!” we’ll essentially be replacing part of those existing payments instead of adding to them.  Besides, we like our Wrestling Room, as we’ve come to call it, and why pay more if you don’t have to?

Don’t worry, when we finally go sectional shopping, we’ll take Blog Land with us.  ;)

Author: Olivia @ Mid-Century Modern(ization)

I am a wife, mother, and writer. I am also a crafting, furniture-refinishing, home-designing nut.

3 thoughts on “Cycling Complete

  1. Pingback: Finally, a Living Room for …Living | Mid-Century Modern(ization)

  2. Pingback: DIY Wall Art | Mid-Century Modern(ization)

  3. Pingback: Upcycling a Vintage School Desk | Mid-Century Modern(ization)

Leave a comment