Mid-Century Modern(ization)

Redefining modern for a family-friendly home

Lunchtime Thrifting

2 Comments

Yesterday on my lunch hour I hit up the local Goodwill.  I try to do this at least once a week, sometimes more. I haven’t found anything good there since last fall when I happened upon this credenza for a steal at $30, but I’m nothing if not persistent.  And yesterday my efforts paid off!

I nearly knocked a woman over in my haste to claim this amazing little industrial desk chair.

IMG_5687

I love that it’s a flirty color and smaller in size than the typical wheeled task chair.  The $10 price tag didn’t sting either. It’s in great condition and with a little cleaning that blue vinyl will add some much needed playfulness to our place.  I’m not sure where it’s going to end up just yet, but right now it’s hanging out in the kitchen.  Makes me smile every time I walk by!

IMG_5716

I also spied this great brass desk lamp.

IMG_5688

At $4 it was mine. Wham bam, thank you, ma’am.  I’d love to leave the patina in place on this but of course the folks at Goodwill wrote the price directly on the brass with a black sharpie and I doubt I’ll be able to get it off without some scrubbing — not that I won’t try.  (Side note: how much do I HATE when they do this?!  There have been a number of treasures I’ve mournfully left behind because someone carelessly gratified on it with permanent marker.)  This task lamp will end up on the desk in the den — it will be an amazing upgrade from the aluminum Target lamp I got in high school that rests there now.

Lastly, I found this controversial console table.  I say controversial because my dear husband thinks it’s hideous, but I’ll bring him around.

IMG_5703

Now, I know it’s ugly.  You don’t have to tell me that.  But look at all that potential!  I love the angles of those legs and, yes, I even like them in gold.  Gold is in again, people!  In the right setting I know this table can look really glam and eclectic.  In fact, I just picked up a glass and gold coffee table for the den that I need to show you guys — everyone thought I was crazy but they all agree it looks great in the room.  So anyway, I’m planning to keep the legs as they are for now, but I wouldn’t be opposed to spraying them a fun color in a high gloss if I decide to pack a little more punch.  These are things to consider.

IMG_5704

As for the top.  It’s really kind of top heavy, isn’t it?  The material is that hard plastic, like HeyWoodite, but I didn’t see a Heywood Wakefield maker’s mark.  The top is not the most appealing color and it has some damage to it, so my plan is to replace it.  Wouldn’t this table look fantastic with a wood top?

My long term plan is to move it into the dining room to use as a side board and move the credenza that’s there now (which is really a dresser) to the guest room to be used as, what else? … a dresser!  I have long been concerned that our dining room has way too many woods going on.  Between the wood table and chairs, the wood credenza, and the china hutch, there is absolutely nothing fun going on in the space.  And you guys all know how much I like to have a little fun!  But really, even the orange and blue ogee rug is looking really tame.

IMG_1989

But first I need to sell the vanity/desk and the matching that’s in the guest room to make some space.  (Any takers? I’m asking $175 for the desk and $50 for the nightstand — I’ll cut a deal if you buy both!)

IMG_5452

Which reminds me — the guest room is actually falling together quite nicely following my finds from earlier this month.  I picked up both the nightstand and the chair for a steal, and sold off all the other furniture that used to occupy this space.  I’ve put very little effort into this room, but somehow it’s one of the rooms that’s made the most progress.

IMG_5450

Anyway, until the desk sells, the console table is catching keys in our front entry way.  Wow, this post really is all over the place, isn’t it?

IMG_5708

Which brings me to… the indoor planter.

IMG_5698

It’s time has come y’all.  I’m getting rid of all those silk plant and dank bark this weekend and replacing it with… well, I haven’t quite figured that out yet, but wish me luck!

Author: Olivia @ Mid-Century Modern(ization)

I am a wife, mother, and writer. I am also a crafting, furniture-refinishing, home-designing nut.

2 thoughts on “Lunchtime Thrifting

  1. Indoor sandbox for the boy? You could clear it out the sand toys and do a zen thing if you felt fancy. Maybe adopt a pet tortise. The possibilities are endless! Can’t wait to see how it turns out.

Leave a Reply

