Mid-Century Modern(ization)

Redefining modern for a family-friendly home

The Perfect Pattern

1 Comment

I’m stuck, you guys.  On a whim I placed one of the cast-off rugs we were debating for the laundry room under the kitchen table and decided that I really liked the look of a rug in the space.  Just maybe not that exact rug (found at Home Goods for $59).

IMG_4895

Kirk was sold on it and my mom loved it, but something about it wasn’t speaking to me.  I thought maybe it was that the pattern was a little busy when paired with all those table and chair legs. With that in mind I purchased another rug in similar colors, but with a simplified pattern (it’s priced at $203, but I got it on sale and with a coupon for almost half that).

IMG_5326

We’ve been living with this one under the table for a week or so and I’m starting to miss Option #1.  It’s like I didn’t know a good thing when I had it.  Or something.  Now I love this rug, I really do, but it makes this space seem so … heavy.  I think I need to send it back.  I’d keep it and use it somewhere else, but there’s no other room in our house that can handle a 5′ x 8′ rug — it’s way too small.

I know I’m totally over thinking this.   It’s just a rug.   But what do you think?  Is one of these an amazing rug that deserves my adoration?

Author: Olivia @ Mid-Century Modern(ization)

I am a wife, mother, and writer. I am also a crafting, furniture-refinishing, home-designing nut.

One thought on “The Perfect Pattern

  1. Pingback: How Do You Measure, Measure a Year? | Mid-Century Modern(ization)

Leave a Reply

