Mid-Century Modern(ization)

Redefining modern for a family-friendly home

I Love Me Some Maple

7 Comments

Maple syrup.  Maple glazed donuts.  Fiery red Japanese Maples in the fall.  I love them all, but perhaps none as much as I love our new maple quarter round!

Holy cow, how ecstatic am I to have this over and done with?!   I sent this photo to my mom and she texted back, “What? What am a looking at??”  Which means we scored big time.

IMG_4740

IMG_4736

For those of you that are just joining in, when we had our flooring replaced (you can read about our flooring materials here and the installation here), the installers mistakenly encased the cabinetry in thick 1/2″ white quarter round.  I went back to the store and was able to negotiate for them to come back out and fix it free of charge (you can read about that here).

Anyway, for the last few weeks, the white quarter round in our kitchen has stuck out like a sore thumb.  It was the first thing I (or anyone) saw when they walked into the room.  Yes, it was that bad.  So for my mom to not notice the quarter round means we’ve successfully remedied the problem!  Yippie!

Without further ado, here are a few before and after photos for you.

BEFORE with the white quarter round:

IMG_4437

And AFTER it was replaced with matching maple quarter round:

IMG_4738

BEFORE:

IMG_4432

AFTER:

IMG_4732

So. Much. Better.

Truth be told, we’re not quite out of the woods yet.  The installers are going to need to come back for a fourth time because they neglected to replace this section in the hallway and no one (ahem, his name starts with an “H” and ends with “usband”) noticed until they had left.  I was at work or you can be damn sure I would have called them on it.  :)

IMG_4440

I swear, that blasted white stripe will be the death of me.  Good news though, guys!  I think we’re buying a new refrigerator tomorrow.  So very exciting!! 

UPDATED to add: We bought a shiny white fridge! Check it out. :)

Author: Olivia @ Mid-Century Modern(ization)

I am a wife, mother, and writer. I am also a crafting, furniture-refinishing, home-designing nut.

7 thoughts on “I Love Me Some Maple

  1. Pingback: One Hurdle Down: The Floors in Real Time | Mid-Century Modern(ization)

  2. Pingback: The Quarter Round Saga | Mid-Century Modern(ization)

  3. Nice. That looks SO much better, Olivia. What a relief to get this sorted…once the hallway’s done of course. Well done for sticking with it! :)

  4. I read your comment on Apartment Therapy and couldn’t agree with you more. It would be a sin to tear out those maple cabinets and install something like Ikea. They are gorgeous, in great shape, and seem to anchor your kitchen in a lovely, time honored way. I’m not crazy about the hardware, but that’s personal preference.

    Thanks for keeping those beauties, and you did the right thing getting the installers to come back and fix those quarter rounds. That tick white stuff was a crime!

    • Ha! Thanks! I hated the hardware when we first moved in, but it’s growing on me. They’re copper which kind of fades into the background in an unassigned way, but the problem is that the finish is worn and pitted. Also there are SO MANY pieces that it would be a fortune to replace them all! I have considered spray painting them, I just haven’t decided on what metal finish to choose.

  5. Very nice! Just a detail: it’s “without further ADO,” not without further adieu.

Leave a Reply

