Mid-Century Modern(ization)

Redefining modern for a family-friendly home

Mustering Motivation

2 Comments

As I think I mentioned, the flooring we had installed in the kitchen really took it out of me.  I know we didn’t DIY the actual install, so I almost feel like a ninny for complaining about how immensely messy, disruptive, and stressful the whole process was, but that’s the truth of it.  It sucked.  And the fact that it didn’t immediately look amazing didn’t help me rebound well.  The quarter round debacle just made my ‘exhausted’ state further devolve into ‘disheartened’ … and no one likes a whiner so I didn’t post about it much.

But it’s been three weeks — our new maple quarter round has been delivered and is patiently awaiting installation (a week from today!) and, overall, the kitchen is beginning to look really great.  So, in an attempt to rekindle some motivation I’m thinking of tackling a smaller room.  You know, one that will be relatively easy to spruce, won’t cost much, and will give a big pay off for just a little effort.

With all of that in mind, I’ve chosen our laundry room.

As a refresher, here’s what the laundry room was looking like before the flooring went in.   Well, pretty close.  The yellow chair moved the den a while ago and the “art” on the wall fell down about a week after I tacked it up there.  No big loss there.  I staged this place for Logan to use as a little play area, but that never really caught on, so…there’s that.

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

And below is what it’s looking like now.  Yup, a blank slate.  (We did spruce up that half bath a bit when we put it back together though — I owe you an update!)

IMG_4269

IMG_4270

Still have a couple of these bad boys though:

????????????????????????

YIKES!

Here are the things our laundry room has going for it:

  • It’s huge (like 7’x14′ kind of huge)
  • It’s got shiny new floors
  • I’ve already done the paint prep-work (I spackled cracks and even primed a wall or two several months back)
  • It’s got great light
  • It’s got decent WHITE appliances (you know how much I despise the bisque!)

 

So if it’s so great, what’s the problem, right?  Well, here’s what it’s lacking:

  • Seating
  • Shoe/coat/purse storage (the top of the dryer does NOT count!)
  • Non-hideous, non-salmon colored, non-pom-pomed  window treatments
  • Color!
  • Originality!!

So I’ve been perusing Houzz, Pinterest, and my local Home Goods and here’s what I’ve come up with:

Clear it out.  The laundry room has become a catchall for not only our everyday clutter, but for items that ought to be donated or Craigslisted.  It looks like an antique furniture showroom in there — and not a high-end one!  And those roller blinds have got to goooooo (I’ll probably replace them with non-descript white roller blinds like we did in the master bathroom for now).

Add a fun patterned rug.  I actually picked up two 5×7 Moroccan flatweave rugs for $60 each at Home Goods.  I couldn’t determine which one I liked better in the store so I bought them both home so I could see them in the space.

IMG_4633

I still cant decide though.  They both look pretty bad with those yellow/peach walls so I think I need to paint the walls and baseboards before revisiting the rugs.  Most people have voted for the blue one, but we already have a lot of blue going on and I’d like to mix it up a little.  That said, the orange one doesn’t look as great against the cabinets as the blue rug (which is why we have so much blue already — it looks awesome against the maple).  I know several of you will simply be glad it’s not chevron so I’m already winning here. ;)

Paint a fun accent wall.  I’ve been going a little Pinterest happy with this one.   I love some of these feature walls (looking at the patterns, not necessarily the colors).

4f27f976669ea576a7fbdafeb54c80d5

6800673d65c61359643591ae53215dac

 

interior-painting-ideas-triangle-stencil

I’d probably paint the wall that backs to the hallway so you wouldn’t really see the pattern unless you were in the room.  I think it would be a fun way to inject a little personality into the space.  Something tone-on-tone would probably be tame enough to not compete with the rug.

Create seating.  I’ve made my hunt for a tandem mid-century bench pretty public on the blog, but I’ve been coming up empty handed.  They are all too long, too expensive, too far to ship.  One of these would be phenomenal…

Untitled

…but for now, I’ve purchased a bench with shoe storage from Ikea that semi fits the bill.  At least it serves a dual purpose and gets all our shoes out of the way.  By the way, anyone recognize the rug above?  A nearly identical one is now placed in front of our kitchen sink.  I <3 me some Home Goods, baby!

Provide storage/organization options:  So we’ve got the bench with shoe storage, but I’m still trying to figure out a place for coats and bags.   These DIY coat hangers are pretty cute.  The hangers are from Ikea and are dirt cheap.

86e63772792eb301a44837395e45f3bf

A Hang-It-All (or two) would also be awesome, but far more expensive — even for the knock offs.  It would probably be too much with everything else going on in there anyway.  Sometimes I get a little over excited.

 

In the end, I stumbled on these guys at Ikea and decided to go with it.  The Bastis hooks sell for $2.99 and I originally picked them up for Logan’s room but they might live in our laundry room for a while.  Who doesn’t need a few more butts in their life? IMG_4175

Storage bins would also be fantastic.  I’m currently using a giant, yellow, honeycomb planter that has yet to house a plant (you can spy it here).  It has all our hats and teeny tiny two-year-old coats shoved in it.  I saw these over at the Land of Nod.  Some are overtly kid-approved, but others (like the scallops or the blue and grey ones) are really cute.  At $36 each they are too rich for my blood though — I’ll need to keep a lookout at Home Goods for something similar.

organic-landscape-floor-bins

So that’s my plan.  Wish me luck!

Author: Olivia @ Mid-Century Modern(ization)

I am a wife, mother, and writer. I am also a crafting, furniture-refinishing, home-designing nut.

2 thoughts on “Mustering Motivation

  1. Pingback: Textile Addict | Mid-Century Modern(ization)

  2. Pingback: Nothing Here to See | Mid-Century Modern(ization)

Leave a Reply

