Mid-Century Modern(ization)

Redefining modern for a family-friendly home

Snowballing

3 Comments

As the snow continues to fall on the east coast (Umm…hello? It’s March and it was 8 degrees outside this morning) we’ve been busy on the home front.

IMG_3573

Snowballing progress as I like to call it.  You know what I mean… you knock one item off your to-do list and it suddenly seems to draw all eyes to something else that needs attention.  The snowball effect.

IMG_3576

Case it point, I started painting the focal wall of the fire place last weekend.  As soon as I got one coat of paint on it, the brass fireplace insert was suddenly 400% brassier than it was an hour before.

IMG_3574

Elmo agreed.

So naturally, I capped my Bermudan Blue paint and ran to Home Depot for a small pot of high heat black paint–the kind you’d use to give your charcoal grill a refresher.  I finished it up after dark, but it looks much better right?

IMG_3661

Pay no mind to the gray toddler-head-smash-stopper on the hearth, it’s a necessary evil.  Our little guy is also why we opted to paint the insert instead of just taking it out.  Eventually we would like to remove it, but more than that, we’d prefer not have a ash covered two-year-old running amuck so that will need to wait a bit.

And don’t worry, eventually I’ll finish painting this wall … I’m just easily sidetracked. This little painting project sparked another in the adjacent room and before I knew it, we had two partially painted blue walls.

IMG_3625

But as you can see that, too, snowballed with new challenges of its own.  I am pleased to say that no, we do not have patriot blue walls in our kitchen anymore–although there was a heart-palpitating 24 hour period when we did.

But that, my friends, is a tale for another time.

 

EDIT: Want to see how the blue brick wall turned out?  See it here!

Author: Olivia @ Mid-Century Modern(ization)

I am a wife, mother, and writer. I am also a crafting, furniture-refinishing, home-designing nut.

3 thoughts on “Snowballing

  1. Pingback: We’ve Gone Navy | Mid-Century Modern(ization)

  2. Pingback: Let’s Fire Up That Fireplace | Mid-Century Modern(ization)

  3. Pingback: Finally, a Living Room for …Living | Mid-Century Modern(ization)

Leave a Reply

