Mid-Century Modern(ization)

Redefining modern for a family-friendly home

The Great White Debate

Leave a comment

IMG_3073
The other night I posted this photo on Facebook and was completely unsurprised by the number of folks who voted for me to put anything but white on the walls.  Trust me, no one is more surprised at this deviation from color than I am.  I mean, I love color!  Why would I paint my walls white?

But the fact of the matter is, I respect my home and it’s unique, mid-century design.  I know that if I work with its personality rather than against it, the end product will be that much greater.  Here are a few photos of home designs that I feel are really tipping their hats to their mid-century modern roots.

 

As you can see, despite the lack of color on the walls, these rooms are still oozing color and personality.  I think some fun accessories can more than make up the difference of some naked walls.

I truly feel that color on these walls could be a bad, bad design choice.  Here are two very nice rooms that I think would look infinitely better with a nice coat of white paint.

 

Am I right? (you can say no, it’s just my opinion!)

The thing is, it doesn’t need to be a stark white.  Soft white and pale grays and taupes can work too.  Some undertones in your white paint can add a lot of warmth to a room without distracting from the simplicity of an MCM home.

 

Plain white walls are vital to achieving that minimalist look these homes were created for, but with that said, I’m not  against adding an accent wall for contrast.

 

That’s where I’ll be introducing my trademark bold colors, just you wait.

IMG_3078

The kid’s a fan.  Are you?

Author: Olivia @ Mid-Century Modern(ization)

I am a wife, mother, and writer. I am also a crafting, furniture-refinishing, home-designing nut.

Leave a Reply

