Mid-Century Modern(ization)

Redefining modern for a family-friendly home

Warping Woes

Leave a comment

Here we were, so proud of our gleaming hardwood floors (though mainly just thrilled they proved worth every astronomical penny we paid for them) when I noticed this:

IMG_2417

Yep, warping.

That word can make me sweat and shiver at the same time.

I’m pretty sure I didn’t sleep a wink that night stressing over whether the issue was due to our radiant heat floors which had been turned on only a couple weeks prior, the baseboards we reinstalled ourselves the weekend before, or some unknown moisture issue.  And perhaps my greatest worry of all:  is this covered under our warranty?!

A few frantic internet searches reassured me that both the mastic and the hardwood were spec’d for radiant floor heating (as I made sure of prior to install, but you know I had to double check!) and that we had a 30 year product warranty and a 2 year labor warranty. Sigh. Of. Relief.  Because 12 Gs is a lot of money folks, and installing all new floors AGAIN is simply not an option.

IMG_2410

A phone call, a couple emails, and a few photos later I got a call saying the installer wanted to send their regional manager out to personally take a look at our issue.

“Oh, wow” were his exact words. “This is not good”.

It seems to be the consensus that this board was warped out of the box and that the installer knowingly laid it anyway.  It has since caused minor damage to a couple of the boards around it.  I’m not sure how I missed it when I first cleaned the floors and removed all that blue tape, but ever since this area has been covered by the couch. It wasn’t until Thanksgiving that we moved the couch to the great room for our guests and discovered this issue beneath.

And yes, I crawled around the entire house on my hands and knees, lifting carpets and peering under beds.  This seems to be the only spot we’re having problems.  Phew!

Here’s of a photo of the offender (just because I can).  The boards in question are right under that sheet of plastic.

????????????????????????
Boo! Bad, lazy installer!  Boooooo!

The good news is that we have some material left over and the installation company seems to be more than willing to make these repairs quickly and effectively at no cost to us.  Hopefully by next week, we’ll be sitting right as rain again.

Author: Olivia @ Mid-Century Modern(ization)

I am a wife, mother, and writer. I am also a crafting, furniture-refinishing, home-designing nut.

Leave a Reply

