Mid-Century Modern(ization)

Redefining modern for a family-friendly home

Cleaning Credenzas

2 Comments

This post is months overdue, but I owe you all a little story about this stunning fellow came into my life.IMG_1992

The truth is he was hardly stunning when I first saw him.  In fact, he was pretty wrecked.1453541_10100194656179513_1278141938_n

Goodwill had him marked at $30 which is a steal for a piece of mid-century furniture in any state — let alone a case good of this size.  But he was in rough shape. The top right drawer didn’t close, the finish was sallow and faded, and there were nicks and scratches of varying degrees everywhere I looked.IMG_1951

IMG_1954

IMG_1957

IMG_1960

Lucky for him, I was in need of a buffet table in my dining room so I snatched him up.  Actually, I called Kirk in a panic because he wouldn’t fit in my car and the store wouldn’t hold it for me, but that’s another story.

That very night I gave my little helper a sanding block and told him to get to work. We thoroughly washed him down with a damp soapy cloth and lightly scuffed the entire surface with our sanding blocks.IMG_1962

In the past I would have entirely stripped the existing finish off and restained/sealed it, but this time I tried a new product. Let me just tell you,  Restor-A-Finish changed my life.  It is AMAZING.  I applied it with a rag just like I would furniture polish.  And voila!  The scratches disappeared!  Check out this before and after.IMG_2015

Crazy right?!

I also applied Feed-N-Wax (from the same Howard product line) for a glossy protective coat and cleaned up those lovely brass pulls with a bit of elbow grease. Just look at that shiny top.

IMG_1983

IMG_1984

One more before and after!

Before…
IMG_1978

And after!
IMG_1992

And here he is in the room. No more blank wall space under the bike (that was driving me nuts!).
|IMG_1989

I am so impressed with this line I may never strip and retain again!  (Don’t quote me on that)

Author: Olivia @ Mid-Century Modern(ization)

I am a wife, mother, and writer. I am also a crafting, furniture-refinishing, home-designing nut.

2 thoughts on “Cleaning Credenzas

  1. Pingback: Lunchtime Thrifting | Mid-Century Modern(ization)

  2. Pingback: How Do You Measure, Measure a Year? | Mid-Century Modern(ization)

Leave a comment