Mid-Century Modern(ization)

Redefining modern for a family-friendly home

Off the Grid

Leave a comment

I know, I know.  I’ve been MIA for a couple weeks.  I have a really good excuse though: both my bank balance and my energy levels tanked simultaneously.  This left me without much to chat about, but the show must go one, eh?

The truth is I have been working on a couple of spend-free projects here and there, but I’ve seen nothing through to completion yet.  But then I remembered that this blog isn’t about the finished product, it’s about the process.  So without further ado, here’s a little run-down of what I’ve been up to:

Two weekends ago, I removed all the wallpaper from the eat-in kitchen area.  You’ll remember that we pulled off the first decorative layer on move-in day (still visible on the mystery switch below — no idea what that knob does!).

???????????????????????????????

It left behind this fuzzy yellowed backing with faint white slashes as a constant reminder of the awesome paint splatter pattern that once was.

???????????????????????????????  ???????????????????????????????

Removing the backing darkened the space considerably since one wall is paneled in dark walnut, but rooms in transition always look worse before they start to look better, right?  We’re planning on painting the walls a soft aqua.  Remember our color swatches?

IMG_0697

Our new neighbors across the street actually have a similar color on their kitchen walls and they offered to let us slap some of their leftover paint up to see how we like it.  Maybe I’ll get to that this weekend. I’m on the fence about painting the paneling blue though.  In my head paneling should be white, but at the same time, I’d like to keep the wall color as consistent as possible and I will be painting all the drywall aqua.  Decisions, decisions.

I had mentioned in a previous post that the wallpaper was giving me a hard time (as is obvious from the photo above — removing those one and a half panels took for.ev.er), so I thought I’d share the tactic that finally worked for us: near boiling water in a spray bottle.  I saturated the wall, and waited for about five minutes.  Then I sprayed it again.  And again.  After three rounds and about 10 minutes of futzing the adhesive was completely broken down and the wallpaper pulled off in one long sheet.  Then I just took a wet rag and wiped down the wall.  Easy, peasy!  But very messy which is why there are no pictures of this step.

The scary part was when I pulled off the first panel and realized the room had once been painted this color.

1953-pink-formica-kitchen-flashback

(source Retro Renovation)

I panicked for a moment but I soon discovered that they had slapped a sloppy coat of primer over most of it (presumably so that it wouldn’t show though the white(ish) wallpaper.  But can you imagine?  Even the brick was pink!!!  You can see a strip of that Marmie Pink on the soffit up behind to vent hood if you look closely.

IMG_1254

So this is what our kitchenette looks like currently.  I still need to remove the wallpaper from that back hallway, the backsplash, and the soffits around the kitchen before painting can commence.  Until then, we’ll dine in a time capsule twice daily.

And that other free project I worked on?  I finally added the spokes to the bicycle I painted a couple weeks back!

IMG_1269

Please excuse the blur and the cheese.

We still need to hang it on the wall, but I’m excited to finally post a current picture of the dining room once it’s up.  Y’all haven’t seen our new rug yet and I think it ties in to this piece really well.

Here’s a preview if you just can’t wait.  ;)

Author: Olivia @ Mid-Century Modern(ization)

I am a wife, mother, and writer. I am also a crafting, furniture-refinishing, home-designing nut.

Leave a Reply

