Mid-Century Modern(ization)

Redefining modern for a family-friendly home

Bye Bye, Blues

2 Comments

Ok, so the blue tile and toilet in our master bath aren’t going anywhere soon, but that doesn’t mean we couldn’t turn the frown upside-down on this bathroom!

Although, believe you me, if anyone had doubts it was this girl.

For weeks I was at a complete loss on how to tackle this room.  First I tried toning down the blue with more muted blues and beiges, but the result was, if at all possible, even more sorrowful.

IMG_0655

IMG_0654

Then I tried creating a stark contrast with navy and brown and, while my horrible photography may not fully convey it, the result of the dark tones was both boring and oppressive (blue floor tile leading into matching blue wall tile can feel very confining).

IMG_0626editedcrp
(Think this this pic is bad? You should have seen it before I sent 5 minutes “shopping” it.  Did I really take 4 years of photography in high school?!  Mr. Tofoya, if you’re reading this…I’m sorry. It’s not you, it’s me.)

Then one day I was flicking through photos on my phone and saw this.  It’s a bathmat that I had snapped a photo of a few weeks ago when I was shopping for curtains.  Remember it?

IMG_0590

I had liked the colors and the design–enough to toss it on the floor and photograph it!–but I guess I was just stuck on curtains that day because I didn’t snag it.

Well, let me tell you… I couldn’t get my butt back to Target fast enough.  And how thrilled was I when I discovered an entire coordinating bath set?  Ohmygod.  Words cannot even express.

Hopefully these (however so amateur) photos can communicate what my words can’t.

IMG_0738

IMG_0734

IMG_0736

IMG_0737

Pay no mind to the rotting caulk lines… patience grasshopper.

This whole time I’d been thinking that busy prints were not the way to go since the blue on blue on blue seemed busy enough.  But I was entirely wrong.  I LOVE the way those little chevrons break up all that blue.  The color variations are great and they are bright and cheery enough to tie into the adjoining master bedroom design scheme without replicating all the same colors.

It’s fun, it’s young, it’s … dare I say it?…MODERN.

Yup, for $44 my dated blue bathroom has been successfully brought into the 21st century.  (I know, I didn’t think it was possible either)

And then, when I was flicking through images on my phone a second time … it was like kismet.

ikat rug

I immediately thought of the walk-in closet.  We have to walk through the space to get from the bedroom to the bathroom and for weeks it had been a blank canvas.  How perfect would this be to tie the bedroom and the bathroom designs together?

IMG_0724

Logan posing in the still-empty walk-in. Like the new stool? His Mimi got it for us!

Too perfect — which is why I desperately searched four Target stores before I found this now-discontinued rug and snatched it up.

???????????????????????????????

…still need to install quarter round…

I had been hoping to find an ikat pattern like this (no more chevrons!) and was thrilled to find something in the bright green and blue we have going on in the bathroom.  The pattern works well with all the colors in the master bedroom next door and compliments all the chevrons nicely.  And it was only $19.  Although, admittedly, the rugs for all this extra square footage are adding up — including doormats, bathmats and area rugs, we’ve I’ve bought ELEVEN since we moved in.  Whoops.

Here’s an angle where you can see all three rugs at once.  I may or may not have crawled into my closet to get this shot (hence the open closet door reflected in the photo).

???????????????????????????????

On a whim, I also grabbed some fishing line and hung this art print.  I was hoping it would distract from all the mirrors that assault you when you walk in.  I’m not sure if it’s less distracting as the image is reflected on the adjacent mirror, but at least it adds another visual layer of interest — even if it is still very busy.  I’ve decided I like it.

???????????????????????????????

I am also toying with the idea of creating a valance or pelmet box like this as opposed to the DIY roller blind that I posted about last week.  After living with fabric draped over the windows (see first pic in this post) I realized that affixing fabric to the roller blinds would just be way too much activity.  Because of the nature of what goes on in the bathroom, our blinds are down 95% of the time, and I really think all that fabric would be too much of a good thing.  A pelmet box would keep things looking streamlined and just give  a hint of the ikat instead of an entire wall of it.  Plus, if we decided to upgrade the shades to white wood blinds down the road we could keep the pelmet box and not have to start all over.

Here I’ve made a quick ‘n dirty image of what I have in mind for the window with Photoshop.  I also took the opportunity to remove the pink wall paint from the photo.  You’re welcome.

Picture45

The ikat would extend all the way to the wall behind the shower, but you get the gist.

Now I’m itching to slap some paint on all these walls, fix the gold drawer handles, and do something with the two faux-marble countertops.  Has anyone ever tried a product specifically made for countertop coating?  I’ve been researching an epoxy and an oil product from Rustoleum, and a rollable stone surface from Daich Coatings…the only ones with great reviews are $125 or more.  We could practically replace it for that price.

And maybe we would, but I spent all our money on rugs.  Boo.

Author: Olivia @ Mid-Century Modern(ization)

I am a wife, mother, and writer. I am also a crafting, furniture-refinishing, home-designing nut.

2 thoughts on “Bye Bye, Blues

  1. I am so absolutely jealous of this bathroom. Love it!!

  2. Thank you! It really is a great space, it just needs some TLC! Once we get rid of the mauve paint hopefully everything else will loose the pink glow, too (the cabinets are really gray, but reflect all the pink — drives me crazy!!).

Leave a Reply

