Mid-Century Modern(ization)

Redefining modern for a family-friendly home

Sprucing Shades

4 Comments

Kirk and I have a long list of things we’d like to tackle in the house and as our first “warrior weekend” approached we wondered what why should try our hand at first.  That question was answered on our first morning here when we prepared to shower and discovered that the binds in the master bathroom are stuck in the raised position.  The bathroom faces the backyard which is really pretty private, but the window we’re talking about is 47″ across and the shower is a glass enclosure.

Hello, wall of windows, meet my glass shower stall!

????????????????????????

When thinking of what type of treatment we’d like to get as a replacement we thought of curtains, woven bamboo, and roller shades — mostly because they are the cheapest options and hey, it’s just the bathroom.  In the end we went with the roller shade.

I like the simplicity of roller shades in this style of home and I couldn’t argue with the price (I paid $37 for both the shades needed for our bathroom).  I was, however, hoping for something with a little more interest that plain ol’ white vinyl.  That’s when I remembered a while ago seeing a pin on Pinterest that provided a tutorial on how to spruce up standard roller blinds.

18-roller-detail

This tutorial shows you how to replace the vinyl with heavy fabric, while this one outlines how to use spray adhesive to apply quilting fabric right over the vinyl.  Guess which one I’m leaning toward?  If you guessed the no-sew option you know me well!

Because one of our windows in the bathrooms is so large I knew if I went with standard quilting fabric I was going to have to deal with visible seams where I would have to join two panels.  Trying to avoid this I scoped out the options at Target.  I looked at flat sheets, table cloths, shower curtains and drapes — all of which were wide enough to cover the shade in a single go.

That’s when things got difficult.  As I’ve mentioned, our bathroom is blue.  Very blue.  I know I need to incorporate that color somehow but I also want to try and tame it a bit.  I took a sample of the tile color with me to the store and found a lot of fabric options that might work, but I just couldn’t decide.

Option 1
IMG_0599

Option 2
IMG_0593

Option 3
IMG_0597

Option 4
IMG_0595

Option 5
IMG_0588

Option 6
IMG_0587

I think this ikat pattern is my favorite option, but it was at Joann Fabric.  I didn’t check the bolt width but I think I may have to go back and see if it would be wide enough.  It’s similar to Option 1 but it has more white which I think is important.  All that blue is a downer and the white could really brighten up the room.  And wouldn’t it look smashing with this bath mat?

IMG_0590

I love that it has all the same colors, but isn’t matchy matchy.

So, what’s your vote?

In the meantime, Kirk got the new roller blinds installed and I’ve pinned up this fabric that I had laying around.

IMG_0655

I love the pattern, but it’s far more tame then I envision for this space — especially since we did a major aesthetic overhaul on the adjoining master bedroom this weekend and the color palette is anything but tame!

And that, my friends, is what they call a cliffhanger.

Author: Olivia @ Mid-Century Modern(ization)

I am a wife, mother, and writer. I am also a crafting, furniture-refinishing, home-designing nut.

4 thoughts on “Sprucing Shades

  1. I like Option 3, actually. The orange and blue. Contrasting colors are awesome.

Leave a Reply

